The Girl Without Magic
Megan O’Russell
(The Chronicles of Maggie Trent, #1)
Published by: Curiosity Quills Press
Publication date: January 9th 2018
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Death would have been easier, but the Siren wasn’t through with her.

Seventeen-year-old Maggie Trent fell out of a battle and into the Siren’s Realm, a land where secrets hide in the shadows and pleasure comes at a price Maggie is unwilling to pay.

The time for the Siren’s reckoning has come, sweeping away all she deems unworthy to live in her realm. Those without magic are hunted by the Siren. Those with magic are hunted by the Stricken. Fighting or hiding seem necessary to survive. But there is a different way.

Bertrand Wayland, unaging and unrelenting in his determination for Maggie to accept her fate, slips in and out through the stitches that bind the Siren’s Realm to other worlds, gaining magic and having glorious adventures. When Maggie follows Bertrand out of the Siren’s Realm, seeking an adventure of her own, she finds instead a world of magic on the eve of war. To save innocent lives Maggie risks her heart, her life, and her only chance of returning to the Siren’s Realm.

Goodreads / Amazon

Rating: 5/5


The Girl without Magic is a magical “coming of age” tale. I read it straight through in one night because I couldn’t put it down. The author puts a spin on your typical magical world and it made for a great story. With this being the first book in a series, it does a fantastic job of introducing you to all the main characters and dynamics of the series. This book gives you just enough information about the new world Maggie calls home with still leaving you wanting more, but it’s great that she holds back on info dumping the world on us because it leaves more to be discovered by Maggie and us. I personally loved that Maggie has so many personal flaws, it give the series a lot to work with to help her grow into the witch her potential knows she can be. While some of the characters seemed a little too stereotypical at times it doesn’t take away from the story. I can’t wait to see what adventures lay ahead for Maggie.


Author Bio:

Megan is a native of Upstate New York who spends her time traveling the country as a professional actor. Megan’s current published works include YA series The Tethering and Girl of Glass, as well as the Christmas romance Nuttycracker Sweet. 2017 projects include The Tale of Bryant Adams: How I Magically Messed Up My Life in Four Freakin’ Days, and The Chronicles of Maggie Trent: The Girl Without Magic.
For more information on Megan’s books visit

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Leave a Reply